Our Courses
Our Courses > Real Estate Salesperson & Broker

<< Return

Real Estate Salesperson & Broker

Requirements for Salesperson License:
 
 
To be a licensed real estate agent you must be at least 18 years old and have a high school degree or GED. You must complete the 90-hour course, Real Estate 101, and pass the State Exam. As a salesperson you must work under a broker or real estate company. If you have ever been convicted of a felony you must appeal to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission for permission to become licensed. The license fee is $90 and the exam fee is $85. Before receiving your license you will be required to obtain a criminal background history. 

Real Estate 101 (90-hour Salesperson): This course covers real estate principles and practices for salesperson applicants and is required for licensing as a salesperson. Books are included. This course satisfies the educational requirements set by the Louisiana Legislature for an applicant for a Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson License. Topics include: Property Ownership, Land Use Controls and Regulations, Valuation and Market Analysis, Financing, Laws of Agency, Mandated Disclosures, Contracts, Transfer of Property, Practice of Real Estate, Louisiana Laws, Rules and Regulations, Louisiana Civil Law System, and Louisiana Law of Agency. This course is available as a live class or online. Books included with live class.

 Classroom Instruction:

All in-classroom instruction includes mandatory online coursework. These are combination classes that require successful completion of the online portion before a certificate can be issued.
 
Requirements for Broker License:
 
To become a licensed real estate broker you must have held an active salesperson's license for at least 4 years, if licensed after 2008, or 2 years if licensed before 2008. You must complete 150 hours of training, which includes Real Estate 201, 202, 203, and you must pass the State Exam. The license fee is $165 and the exam fee is $85.

Real Estate 201: This course is a review of real estate principles and practice and the Louisiana License Law, Civil Law, and Commission Rules & Regulations for broker applicants. This course satisfies 90 of the 150 hours required by the Louisiana Legislature for an applicant for a Louisiana Real Estate Brokers License. Topics include: Property Ownership, Land Use Controls and Regulations, Valuation and Market Analysis, Financing, Laws of Agency, Mandated Disclosures, Contracts, Transfer of Property, Practice of Real Estate, Louisiana Laws, Rules and Regulations, Louisiana Civil Law System, and Louisiana Law of Agency. This course is available as a live class or online. Books included with live class.

 

Real Estate 202: This 30-hour course covers the Louisiana laws including License Law, Rules and Regulations, and Civil Law. This portion can be completed either online or in a live class. Louisiana Laws book included with live class.

Real Estate 203:
This is the 30-hour course in broker responsibilities that is required of all broker candidates. This course is only offered online.

 Classroom Instruction:

All in-classroom instruction includes mandatory online coursework. These are combination classes that require successful completion of the online portion before a certificate can be issued.


Post Licensing: All newly licensed salespersons and brokers are required to complete a 45 hour post licensing course within 6 months after becoming licensed. These courses are offered online, but can be scheduled as a live class for groups of 10 or more.
 
Continuing Education: All licensees must complete 12 hours per year of continuing education, 4 hours of which must be in the mandatory topic required by LREC. Continuing education courses are offered online, by correspondence or live seminars.
 

SCHOOL POLICIES 
 
Cancellations: 
Cancellations must be made at least 48 hours prior to the start of class.
 
Refunds: 
Refunds will be given if student cancels within 48 hours of the start of class. Refunds may be subject to a 3% processing fee.
 
Privacy: 
All information received from the student will be considered confidential and will not be made available to third parties except for purposes of reporting credit hours to NMLS or to the state of Louisiana.

 

© Copyright 2014, Burk BakerSchool of RealEstate & Appraising. All rights reserved.